Gymp
03-04-2009, 01:18 PM
Hi all...
This morning I logged in and noticed I had a private message from a "Stephanie".I'd not remembered this member before so I clicked her user profile and found she'd never posted and joined just recently.Here's a copy of her message...
Hi,
I'm new here, how's it going?
"Being deeply loved by someone gives you strength, while loving someone deeply gives you courage" - Lao Tzu
---
Stephanie
http://jeannette.i8.com
...At first I was going to reply to tell her to post an introduction of herself at the forum but became suspicious about this message as there's an unsolicited link in it for me to click...I copied the link and pasted it into google and this is what it came up with....
http://www.google.ca/search?hl=en&q=http%3A%2F%2Fjeannette.i8.com&btnG=Google+Search&meta=
It's!!!! SPAM !!!! Alot of other forums have this bot sending pm's to their members as well.If anyone else here gets this message from Stephanie I wouldn't click on the link or reply to it.
Dodger,could you look into this as your the moderator here and perhaps notify Barb so she could see if something could be done before it gets out of hand.We don't want this great site over run with these stupid bots private messaging everyone.
Thanks
Gymp
This morning I logged in and noticed I had a private message from a "Stephanie".I'd not remembered this member before so I clicked her user profile and found she'd never posted and joined just recently.Here's a copy of her message...
Hi,
I'm new here, how's it going?
"Being deeply loved by someone gives you strength, while loving someone deeply gives you courage" - Lao Tzu
---
Stephanie
http://jeannette.i8.com
...At first I was going to reply to tell her to post an introduction of herself at the forum but became suspicious about this message as there's an unsolicited link in it for me to click...I copied the link and pasted it into google and this is what it came up with....
http://www.google.ca/search?hl=en&q=http%3A%2F%2Fjeannette.i8.com&btnG=Google+Search&meta=
It's!!!! SPAM !!!! Alot of other forums have this bot sending pm's to their members as well.If anyone else here gets this message from Stephanie I wouldn't click on the link or reply to it.
Dodger,could you look into this as your the moderator here and perhaps notify Barb so she could see if something could be done before it gets out of hand.We don't want this great site over run with these stupid bots private messaging everyone.
Thanks
Gymp